MicroblogMondays: Parents of Multiples

We belong to our local parents of multiples club.  I love being a part of it.

Having twins is expensive.  As a member of this club, we have access to the FB page.  Many parents post free stuff on it.  If you are fast enough, you can score a lot of things.  Even before our babies came home, we already received a jogging stroller and two rock n plays that turn out to be something we use daily.  If you don’t mind hand-me-down items, this is definitely a great way to save some money.

About a month ago I picked up some sleepsacks that these other twins outgrew.  The same mom recently posted free size 2 diapers and a few sleepsacks for transitioning the babies to be unswaddled.  I was fast enough to respond and went to pick up the items on the same day.  The husband greeted me in the garage and gave me the items.  We chatted for a few minutes and he showed me the Bumbo chair in the garage.  I happened to have researched for it the day before because the babies are soon going to be able to sit.  He said that one of his babies outgrew it and that’s why the chair was sitting in the garage.  He told me to connect with his wife again as he suspected that they’d soon upgrade both babies to highchairs.  I messaged her and she told me yesterday that we could pick up the chairs any time.  And we did!  I am just so grateful for parents who are willing to pass on items to the next parents.  We will for sure do the same when our babies outgrow their gear.

Other than getting free things, anyone can post questions, ask for recommendations, and ask for advice on the FB page.  I have done it plenty of time and often get many responses.  It helps to feel that you are not alone on this journey, especially when it comes to a baby who doesn’t like to eat much.  I like how instant the FB platform is vs. the old way of posting questions and responding on an online forum.  Things move along so much faster that way, and members can connect via private messaging if they so desire.

This club also hosts meetings for new and expectant parents twice a month.  I went to one in the evening and one in the middle of the day.  It is a wonderful opportunity to connect with other parents and to learn from their experience as well as to offer what you have learned so far.  I enjoyed my time there tremendously, although it was still a bit weird.  As my babies’ mom, I didn’t give birth to them.  So whenever someone asked about the birth experience, I had to explain about the surrogacy.  It was all fine but I sometimes do feel like I am missing out on the pregnancy, the birth, and the breastfeeding part especially when I hear the other moms talk about their experience.  But because this was the only way for us to have these babies, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  One expectant mom has booked my night nanny in a few months upon my recommendation.  She also wants to hang out with me and the babies.  I look forward to making new friends this way.

Being parents of twins has its unique challenges.  But with the help of these parents who have walked the same path, it makes it feel like it is much easier to navigate this messiness with their advice and guidance.  The membership fee is the best $40 I have ever spent.

8 thoughts on “MicroblogMondays: Parents of Multiples

  1. Thats wonderful..my cousin has twins – boy and girl – and found the FB group she belongs to, to be invaluable as well. I think…if nothing else…it was how she connected with other people who understood the craziness and could commiserate/teach her things specific to raising twins.

    Like

    • Oh yes about the commiserating part. I posted about Bunny’s eating problems and got so many people telling me about their experiences. It helped to know this is common and I’m not alone.

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you’ve found a good group for advice and free stuff! I can only imagine how helpful that is! I’ve found a lot of free or very cheap used stuff on the Nextdoor app if you want to check there too!

    Like

    • Oh yeah I’m on nextdoor too but the free stuff part is hit or miss. The POM club parents often offer 2 of everything so it makes it easier to use for both babies. Maybe I’ll have better luck with Nextdoor in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds like such an amazing resource. The community, the possible friendships, the free stuff (and a source to give away your baby gear when the time comes, too) — it’s awesome. It must have been hard to field those birth experience questions, but it’s great that you talk about surrogacy and educate people of this option that builds families. So glad you have this support!

    Like

  4. I love my local multiples group too! We have a biannual consignment sale, one is next weekend actually, and it’s a huge budget saver. I also love our FB group. So much help right at your fingertips!

    Like

Leave a comment