MicroblogMondays: Clothes and Stuff

We are 35 weeks 5 days today.  Being so close to our scheduled delivery date (and knowing that the babies may come at anytime), we need to pack our bags soon.  I started writing a list of things to pack, and certain things have already been put in the suitcases (such as the car seat adapters for our frame stroller).  One thing that has been stressing me out the most is the babies’ clothes.  Not knowing what size they may be when they are born, what kind of clothes do I prepare for them as their going home outfits?  And we are expecting to stay an extra night at a hotel after being discharged from the hospital before flying back.  So my mind has been going a little crazy trying to figure out what size the babies may wear and how many pieces of clothes to put in the suitcase for them.  Figuring out baby clothes sizes has been a bit confusing.  Different brands’ sizes are little different.  Some run big and some are small.  We saw this outfit and really like it.  However, it is not available in newborn size.  I still bought a pink and a blue 0-3 months ones for the babies and will still bring them on our trip, but I fully expect these outfits to be too big for the babies when they leave the hospital.  I was still a big confused about how many pieces of clothes to prepare in general and what size they should be.  Recently I joined our local parents of multiples group.  This group is super awesome.  Half an hour after I joined the group and was added on Facebook, these parents of twins offered a double jogging stroller for free.   Because I was the first person responded (literally two minutes after the post showed up), we were the ones who got them.  This free stroller is now sitting in our garage waiting for the babies to show up (and hopefully one day will sit in it while Bob goes running with them).  So back to the group.  I posted my questions about what size clothes to prepare and what size clothes these parents’ babies fit into when they were born.  People are so nice.  So many of them answered my questions with their own experience.  After reading all of their answers, my conclusion is that there is no set rule.  Some babies were born heavier (over 6.5 lbs) but fit into preemie clothes.  Some babies were born below 6 lbs and fit into newborn size clothes.  So my take home is, we won’t know until the babies are born and their sizes may not depend on how much they weigh.  The most awesome thing about this group is that there is a preemie closet!  We don’t have to buy any preemie size clothes because we can borrow them to prepare for the twins’ arrival.  Once we are done, either because we don’t need them or because they have outgrown them, we can return the clothes to the group so that the next family can use them.  This is such an amazing thing for parents of multiples and it saves us a lot of money or hassle to have to worry about buying them.  I will go pick up the preemie clothes today so I can pack some in the suitcase to prepare for the trip.  Our babies may not need them but I feel a whole lot better having them around.

Getting closer and closer!

12 thoughts on “MicroblogMondays: Clothes and Stuff

  1. Getting so close! How exciting! Being a planner, we had a singleton and what was supposed to be a home birth turned hospital birth, the one article of clothing I found to be the best was the 4 or 5 plain white onesies we brought to use in the hospital.

    They were newborn size and fit a bit loose, but that was okay, and the extras were certainly used because there were a few blow out diapers right off the bat, and spit up, and cuddling skin to skin was easier to do with just a onesie to take off or leave on.

    I’m rambling now, but I would definitely recommend just newborn white onsies.

    Like

  2. I had no idea what size to pack for Tru and since he was pretty small, (6lbs 6oz) a lot of the clothes I took to the hospital were too big. My mom always had big/huge babies (8+ to 10+ lbs) so going off that, I packed a lot of 0-3 months. But you know, it was totally fine. Better for the clothes to be a bit too big (especially the sleepers) than to have them too small.

    And as far as how many to pack, after that first day or two, once their digestion wakes up, oh boy! I’d say we easily went through 3 outfits a day. Most hospitals will provide at least a shirt and swaddling blanket to use in the hospital, so depending on how long you are there, you may be able to use their clothes.

    That mom’s group sounds awesome! And how cool that you scored a jogging stroller. That’s going to be so fun for Bob and the babies. I can’t believe how close they are to being here! So excited for you guys, truly!! 🙂

    Like

  3. What a great resource! My advice is to err on the small side. My daughter was 7lb, 15oz and newborn fit her better and longer than I expected. Babies are just so tiny! And I think they look cuter in tighter fitting clothes than ones that swim on them. Onsies stretch well, especially Carter’s. Also, we kept her swaddled much of the time, so she really only needed onesies underneath. Newborns are so hot!

    Like

  4. What a great idea about the preemie closet. Regarding clothes for newborns, my advice is a sleeper that snaps or zips down the front. That’s really all they need. The clothes you have to pull over their heads suck because they are not used to that and hate it. Regarding sizes, maybe bring a couple different sizes but remember they grow so fast. Seriously within 2-3 weeks the first outfits are out grown. Good luck sounds like you have a ton of support!

    Like

  5. Yea baby size clothes are so different and confusing. Thankfully, at 2t, they start getting more universal (and fitting into that size for maybe a whole year!). But before that, its such a crap shoot. Bring a lot. They may go through ten outfits in the 24 hours before you get home, babies are messy.

    Like

  6. I had huge babies (8.5 lbs and just over 10 lbs). They both wore newborn sizes home from the hospital. Also, the hospital will have little shirts for them to wear while they are there. We mostly kept our babies swaddled up in a blanket unless we were doing skin to skin or feeding/changing. I’d just bring a bunch of footed pjs in the smallest size you can get. These were my favorites for the early weeks.

    Like

  7. That’s amazing about the multiples group! Wow, so much support already. And a double jogging stroller for free — that’s a huge expense, gone! 🙂 I can understand the stress about the baby clothes sizes… but it’s so nice that you can borrow preemie sizes from the closet. I guess just bring a smattering of sizes and clothes…the good news is they’re all so tiny it won’t take up much room in the suitcase! Maybe fill a packing cube with them for easy suitcase-fitting (I am a packing cube convert). So exciting!

    Like

  8. So close! Definitely worth getting a preemie outfit in case you need it. If you don’t need it and they’re big enough for 0 – 3, the preemie clothes make super stylish doll clothes in the future 🙂

    Like

  9. I remember those days. I packed gowns for pictures and had a few different options for going home outfits but they spent most of their hospital time naked under their swaddles. Sizes are all over the board and you’ll learn which ones run big or small. Like others have said, pack a bunch. They may go through several a day or they may stay clean for a few days, you just never know.
    Yay for the multiples group! My local club is so helpful too. It makes sense because we’re all going through the fiery forge that is multiples. The preemie closet is awesome. My local group doesn’t have that but I think I’ll suggest it now. I met a mom at our consignment sale last week who cleaned out the preemie girl section for her twins who were in the NICU. She got lucky with the timing but so many moms don’t.

    Like

Leave a comment