MicroblogMondays: Night Nanny = Sleep

I was going to write about how great our night nanny is but our babies have other ideas.  At the time I wanted to write a post, the babies were going through what newborns go through at sundown.  They weren’t eating much at meal time and they were wailing on and off for a couple of hours.  Dinner time was late and they would be up again soon.  Both babies have been having feeding issues. Okra has a really difficult time burping.  Every time he eats he cries because he can’t pass the gas.  Bunny used to be a champ at burping.  The past few days she has been having trouble as well, and sometimes she doesn’t finish the full feed.  Needless to say, this is exhausting and a big puzzle to solve.  Hoping trying new formula will help.  In the mean time, I am very thankful for our night nanny who has been giving us a full night sleep a few times a week.  It makes such a huge difference in my ability to enjoy the babies.  The morning after the night nanny is here, I would wake up refreshed and feel like I can deal with fussing, crying, and feeding issues all over again.  And even for those nights that I feed the babies myself, I feel better because I know that our night nanny will show up the next night helping out so we can put our ear plugs on and sleep.  We even attended church on Sunday because we had a full night sleep.  I have learned a great deal from our night nanny about taking care of babies and hopefully I will have more time to write about it in the future.

8 thoughts on “MicroblogMondays: Night Nanny = Sleep

  1. I am so jealous of your night nanny, but so happy you have her! For burping, I find it helps to bounce baby on a yoga ball. I’ve got a gassy newborn right now too.

    Like

    • A chiropractor also works wonders to help you with techniques to burp babies. I took mine and it made a big difference. I also took my prem baby to a physio who specializes in re-alignment. As I had c-section babies, they sometimes need a bit of extra input to deal with alignment issues……this impacts on their comfort as a baby who experiences mucle tension in his/her neck for example, will be extra fussy and cry more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful! So glad this arrangement is working. Taking care of one now I’m thinking how in the WORLD did I ever take care of two all night long?!? And then I remember that I only ever slept for one hour increments at a time and that’s why I remember nothing from their first six months…I hope the many continues to help you enjoy your time with them.

    Like

  3. Can’t say enough good things about Holle formula! We had our daughter with the help of a GC and used Holle from birth. So great to hear you’re getting rest 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

