Update: 32 Weeks

32 weeks today!

We had our growth scan on Monday at 31 weeks 5 days.  I was still a tiny bit nervous like usual.  Maybe I won’t be able to breathe more easily until the day our twins are safely in our arms.  Every time there is a scan, I feel mostly confident that things will be fine, but there is still a small part of me that is anxious.  Bob is so funny.  He dons his Batman T-shirt and his red underwear for good luck on every single scan day.

This time I didn’t get to watch the ultrasound.  Annie went by herself and tried to video-conference me, but the connection was so slow that I could barely see anything.  We chatted on the phone instead.  She sporadically reported to me the babies’ stats.  While we were waiting for the technician to check on the babies, we chatted about her boys and her life.  She was telling me that she started feeling sad because in weeks time the babies will be born. Although this pregnancy has been a lot harder for her than her previous singleton pregnancies, she has enjoyed every single minute of it.  She said she would really miss carrying the babies and feeling them move.  I was quite touched by what she said.  I know that the babies are well loved, and it is so important for them to be loved by their carrier as well.  She also told me that her bump is now about two inches away from the steering wheel.  We will probably have to figure out a way to get her to the nonstress test two times a week in the future if her bump is too big for driving.

Back to the twins.  Here are the numbers.  Baby A’s heart rate was 141.  He/She was 4 lbs 3 oz measuring at 32 weeks 1 day.  Baby B had a heart rate of 147 and was 4 lbs 4 oz, which made him/her 32 weeks 2 days.  Annie’s cervix was measuring at 5.1cm.  The babies’ heads were together again.  This time they were like an upside down L.  Baby A’s head was on Annie’s right side and lying across.  Baby B’s head was next to Baby A’s head with his/her feet down.  I find it so cute that every time there is a scan, the babies’ heads are always together.  It seems like they just attract each other.  Apparently since Baby B is in the posterior position of the placenta, it has been very hard to get a good profile photo of him/her.  We again couldn’t get one this time.  I don’t know what is up with that kiddo… he/she is hiding all the time!  I was planning on using their ultrasound photos for the maternity photos this Sunday.  It looks like I’ll have to use Baby A’s profile and Baby B’s alien looking photo.

I didn’t even ask to speak with Dr. OB because there was really nothing for me to ask about.  About 30 minutes later, Annie sent me a text saying that the visit with Dr. OB went well and everything was good with her and the babies.  This weekend Bob and I are going to fly there to spend some time with Annie and her husband.  Maternity photos will be on Sunday.  Bob is going to come home on Sunday.  I will stay for another day to go check out Labor and Delivery at the hospital as well as to attend Annie’s first non-stress test.  She asked Dr. OB if I could sneak a peek at the babies next Monday at the appointment.  He told her that he would definitely look at the babies (and let me look at them) if he is around on Monday.

I joke that Bob now has to figure out a way to keep his Batman T-shirt and red underwear clean because he’ll have to wear them twice a week from next week on for all the nonstress tests.

6 thoughts on “Update: 32 Weeks

  1. I love that Bob still wears special clothes for scans! So funny. That anxiety won’t entirely go away but that’s ok. Once the babies are born, it’ll turn into mommy anxiety and that’s just ok too. A little anxiety helps you be a good mom, worrying about your kids growing and developing well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

