More Uplifting News: Refund for the Hysteroscopy

It shows you that it really never hurts to ask about anything.

I emailed the surgical coordinator at my clinic about a refund or a partial refund for the botched hysteroscopy that we had paid for out of pocket.  It was a total of almost $2600.  She was on vacation until this past Monday.  I hadn’t heard back from her so I  emailed her yesterday.  Bless her heart.  She called and left a voicemail for me, saying that she would try her best to get us some refund but there is no guarantee as it is usually difficult to get money back from UCSF.  She had to file a lot of paperwork but she would let me know as soon as possible.  I emailed her and thanked her for her willingness to try.

I didn’t expect to hear anything back from her for a while.

And then this morning.  Her message came at 7:40am:

“We are going to refund the facility and pro-fee for this procedure. You are responsible for $185.00 for the medications.  It will take about 3 to 4 weeks to get your money back.”

Wow!  I was blown away.  I was expecting maybe a little bit of the refund for the professional fee but none of the facility fee.  This is the best possible outcome for this non-surgery.  The refund is going to go back to my health savings account credit card, so I can apply the fees for other medical expenses.  It is so nice to know that our own clinic does take care of us.

I can’t tell you how thankful I am for this.  What a wonderful way to start the weekend.

Praise the Lord!!!

7 thoughts on “More Uplifting News: Refund for the Hysteroscopy

  1. That is so awesome! Most clinics would just be like, well, we did MOST of the procedure, so we incurred the cost and hence you get nothing back. That clinic really takes care of you, I can understand why you love it so much. I hope that you guys are on a roll of good luck now that will end with a big fat DE baby!

    Like

  2. This is such great news, Isabelle. I think that no small part of it comes from the dignity and honour with which you have carried yourself and interacted with Dr. NN and his team. In any event I’m so relieved for you and Bob to have this money back.

    Like

  3. Pingback: MicroblogMondays: Peace with Baby Bumps | In Quest of a Binky Moongee

Leave a Reply

