MicroblogMondays: Choo Choo!!!

Microblog_Mondays

Bob and I had been talking about taking a trip somewhere for the Fourth of July weekend.  One of the choices was to drive up north for about ten hours to visit with my friend Chloe and her family.  After the little incident between me and Chloe, I don’t feel ready to spend a few days with her.  I have this instinct to guard my heart and to protect myself from any more insensitive or hurtful comments, although I know that Chloe will be extra careful with me when it comes to talking about my fertility.  Still, I don’t want to risk it, especially at around the time when we expect to be in the middle of a egg donation cycle.  Plus, after all that we have endured in the past nine months, Bob really wants to have something to look forward to.  I do too.  We still have to live life, right?  Bob’s first love is trains.  He talks about trains on a daily basis.  He has been wanting to take an overnight train ride somewhere in the country.  Sometimes when Bob cuddles with me at night, he would ask me what train we are pretending to be taking.  I would often say “a train to Chicago”.  He would slightly shake his body and make quiet train sounds while we fall asleep.  I really want to make him happy and to thank him for being there with me on this life journey.  I checked the Amtrak fare for California Zephyr that runs from San Francisco to Chicago.  After doing some calculations, riding a train on July 4th is cheaper than any other days  around that time.  I originally hesitated booking because of the unknown timing of a DE cycle. However, living life is more important.  If a DE cycle happens to be around that time, it can wait.  I am done holding off our life because of infertility. The whole train ride will be over 51 hours.  A roomette was our original plan since it contains bunk beds.  However, after I saw that a bedroom has a lot of extra space, a possibility for two people to sleep in the lower berth, and its own in-room shower and sink, I was sold.  It costs a lot more money to book the bedroom.  But I figured that a train journey is an attraction in itself.  So the extra money is worth it.  All the meals are included.  There is no wifi on the train, and the cell phone reception is reportedly spotty. I guess we really have to interact with each other in these 51 + hours.  Haha.  It’ll be good for our relationship.  Free of unnecessary distractions.  We’ll spend a week there and fly back on July 11th.  That means that I’ll celebrate my birthday there in Chicago!  One of my best friends lives there so we’ll be spending a lot of time with him and his family.  AND, one of my best online friends lives a few hours away so we may have a chance to finally meet up!

I shared the news with Chloe, who, although was super bummed about not seeing us in July, took it really well and was excited for us.

We are so excited about the trip.  It’s important to build memory as a couple, especially something more fun and memorable than our IVF cycles.

Three more months.  Can’t wait!

photo (46)

14 thoughts on “MicroblogMondays: Choo Choo!!!

  1. tt sounds like a fun experience, but I can’t help to think of the Big Bang Theory episode when they take a train trip to Napa!

    Like

  2. You seem to have so many friends! That is a blessing. I know it seems weird to say but I envy you that. I suffered through all of my miscarriages with a very small circle of friends and family. Have a wonderful trip!

    Like

  3. So much fun! Good for you for taking control back and booking something fun. I did a sleep car once. One word of advice — bring Dramamine in case you need it. I didn’t think I would, and didn’t while I was sitting up. But once I was horizontal, I started to get motion sickness. It would go away whenever I sat up. But Dramamine did the trick.

    I love trains.

    Like

  4. This sounds like a perfect vacation – meeting maybe a new (online) friend, spending time with an old friend, and time as a couple.

    I love love LOVE train travel, so I can’t wait to hear about your trip. I wrote a post years ago about Trains Here’s the link – I hope it works.) You’re prompting me to post one I’ve had drafted for ages, about my favourite ever train trip.

    Like

  5. I would love to take a trip on a train! but no idea when it will happen. I am so excited for you! I think you will be very happy that you took this chance to enjoy being a couple and it is so true that anticipation is one of the best things about vacation.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Therapy – Round Two Session Two | In Quest of a Binky Moongee

  7. We took the zephyr from Chicago to California last year! It was an awesome trip, but be warned, by the end of the trip we were 4 or 5 hours behind schedule!
    We had the roommette and they are tiny! I didn’t mind the shared toilet/shower as much as I minded the tinyness- you will see. So good choice on the room choice. The food was pretty good too. I did enjoy the chance to see the country, and I appreciated not spending time in airline queues.

    Like

  8. Pingback: MicroblogMondays: Pre-Train Trip Saga | In Quest of a Binky Moongee

Leave a Reply

