Trilaminar

Today was my cycle day nine scan.  I had no expectation going in.  I didn’t feel nervous or anxious.  I was quite neutral.  We arrived ten minutes early and were pleasantly surprised that we got called back early.  Dr. Keikoman (Bob nicknames all Japanese women Keiko, so a Japanese man naturally becomes Keikoman) greeted us and said, “So, no meds and you’re going for a natural cycle, right?”  Yup.  That’s what we’re trying to do.  First the doctor measured the uterine lining.  He found it and studied it.  I held my breath for a little until he said, “Trilaminar.”  That was such a beautiful word in my ears.  I let out of sigh of relief and said, “Yay!”  Trilminar is what we want.  Praise the Lord!  This definitely gives us a chance of transfer if the lining continues to grow well.  At today’s appointment it was at 6.8mm.  And then Dr. Keikoman examined my left ovary.  I told him that there was a cyst at baseline.  He looked and found a structure that could be either a cyst or a follicle at 13mm.  After he looked some more, he found another dark structure that could be outside of the left ovary measuring 15mm.  The right ovary had a 10mm follicle.  Dr. Keikoman thought that we are looking at possibly two follicles growing.  There is really no way to know if those dark circles are cysts or follicles.  So we’ll wait for the scan on Tuesday to find out more.  But it looks like we’re on the right track with the lining and some follicles.  I will continue to do my castor oil pack to help reduce the cyst and do some Maya massage self care to help the circulation of my abdominal area.

This is the first step in the right direction.  Yay!

11 thoughts on “Trilaminar

    • I actually don’t know my clinic’s minimum requirement. When I am not doing Clomid, my lining is usually about 10mm. I am hoping that we have something similar this time. None of my REs have ever been worried about my lining. But it scared me a little during my clomid cycles that my lining was not trilaminar and sometimes not thick enough. The good thing is we weren’t doing a transfer so I guess the lining really didn’t matter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

