MicroblogMondays: “Dang it!”

Microblog_Mondays

“Dang it!!!”

Those were the words that came out of my mouth at 5:30 this morning in a dark room in this nice bed and breakfast.

I am on vacation.  Our long-awaited vacation at a coastal town.  A time away that I had been looking forward to, so that we can relax and recharge before we go back to the IVF madness.

Of course I woke up at 5:30am.  Why?  Because that’s the stupid time that I usually wake up to take my temperature.  I was praying that it would keep itself up at least for one more day.  Well… it dropped below cover line.  Today is only 11 days past ovulation.  My period is not supposed to come this early.  I usually have a nice long 14-day luteal phase.  This is a joke.

Dang it!  Why can’t my body cooperate for once?!?  All I want is a nice relaxing vacation without having to worry about stupid AF coming.  Now I am on a toilet paper watch.

A temperature drop doesn’t always mean the immediate arrival of AF.  It may take a day.  It may not.  We have two more days here.  I really hope that AF doesn’t come until tomorrow after 4pm, so that the first day of the cycle will be on Wednesday.  We drive home on Wednesday so if that’s the case, I can go to the clinic on January 1st.

Nevertheless, I am on TP watch.  Do you know how disappointing and depressing it is to have to watch for blood every single time I go to the bathroom while on vacation?

I lay in bed feeling sorry for myself, at 5:30am.  This is crazy.  I feel that I should NOT be affected by this.  But the sense of unfairness kept me from feeling calm about it.  All I could think of was, I can’t even have a relaxing time without thinking or worrying about stupid IVF cycle on my own vacation.

If my period comes today before 4pm, we’ll have to drive back to the city for 2.5 hours tomorrow to do the 5 minute ultrasound.  The thought of that makes it so depressing.

Bob rubbed my back and told me that it was okay.  He said that, maybe we can tell the clinic that we’ll just postpone our cycle until next month.

I shook my head in the dark.  I am not postponing the cycle.  Period.

ARRRGGHHHH.

It doesn’t help that I saw a pregnancy announcement of an acquaintance popping up on my FB screen.  An ultrasound photo indicating that baby’s arrival end of July.  I immediately unfollowed her.  I don’t need this right now.

The sense of unfairness enlarged and engulfed my heart.

I will be okay.  I just need the time to vent.

*****

On a more pleasant note, these pictures also describe how our vacation has been:

  photo 5

photo 4

photo 3

photo 2

 photo 1

Hopefully we can enjoy our time for a couple more days.

10 thoughts on “MicroblogMondays: “Dang it!”

  1. That food looks delicious. 🙂
    I have been in that place before… TP watch on vaca. It’s not fun. 😦 I hope you will be able to enjoy the rest of your vacation and that the low temp was just a fluke and AF is still days away!!

    Like

  2. Arggggh!!!!! What a bummer. But talk to your clinic–they might be able to make accommodations? Try, try, try to enjoy the next few days–you definitely deserve the time off. Here’s hoping that your period holds off for a day or two. Take care, friend. xoxo

    Like

  3. Watch your language, young lady. (This is funny because…well, you’ve read my blog.) We always seemed to have some kind of scheduling conflict whenever we vacationed too…I had to find a place to get day 3 bloods drawn in Maine at one point. Hopefully AF will hold off a few more days!

    Like

  4. ARG. Here’s hoping it stays away at least until 4pm so you don’t have to make the 2.5 hour trip for a 5 minute checkup. Also ARG to the vacation interruption, and ARG to the pregnancy announcements. Does that seem like enough ARG’s? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

