Leaving

In a few hours.

I don’t look forward to the long flight to Hong Kong, but I am thrilled to be able to meet my dad at the airport for about an hour before we board another plane to India.  Our layover is about two hours twenty minutes.  I have been praying for the plane to arrive early so that we can have more time with my dad.  I haven’t seen him in 18 months so every single minute counts.

We’ll be arriving in India after midnight.  The hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport.  We stayed there last time so nothing should be too surprising.  I get asked this question a lot, “Are you not staying with your in-laws?”  Nope.  Still not there yet.  My in-laws have a really nice flat, spacious with nice furniture.  They even have two bathrooms.  However, their bathrooms are still those that don’t have a shower stall.  So after you shower, you have to wipe down everything, which defeats the purpose of a shower as you’ll start sweating like crazy.  I lived like that when I was a little kid.  No thank you.  Plus I am not ready to see my in-laws 24×7.  So hotel it is.  I am willing to spend that money for some peace and quiet.

I look forward to that all-you-can-eat breakfast at the hotel.  It was delicious last time. I am surprised I did not become a big fat lady after 9 days of that at the last trip.

In about 30 minutes, we’re going to head out to the safe deposit box at the bank to store my engagement ring and my diamond pendant there.  Bob is totally against the idea of me wearing my engagement ring in India.  He said it’s not a good idea unless I want to get my fingers chopped off.  Last time we had a long layover in Hong Kong so I handed my mom my jewelry so I didn’t bring it to India.  This time, I can also hand it over to my dad at the airport but there is a possibility of a flight delay.  In that case, I would definitely have to bring the jewelry to India, risking losing my fingers.  Plus… Bob doesn’t want his mom to see the diamond that he bought for me.  So I’ll part ways with my precious engagement ring for three weeks.

Bob has been looking for a job.  He has had many phone interviews and some onsite interviews.  No offer yet.  But I am so happy for him that he gets to practice his interview skills so that when THE job rolls around, he will be very skillful in his interview skills that he can shine through during these meetings.  He also has an onsite interview with a big company scheduled when we come back.  

On the TTC front, today is 11 days past ovulation?  My chart is still a little wacky as the temperature spike was a little weak.  Cervical fluid was not very obvious and my cervix’s height was very difficult to tell if ovulation took place.  I guess two months after a chemical I shouldn’t expect everything to be back to normal.  I get asked a lot what I will do and when I’ll proceed to the next step.  I thought about writing Dr. E an email asking her what she’ll do differently next time if we cycle with her again.  I just thought about it.  I haven’t written her yet.  Mentally and emotionally, I am still not ready yet.  I continue to do well though.  One of my friends is going to transfer her frozen embryo in a couple of hours for a second child.  I want nothing but the best for her.  I want this embryo to stick and I want her to be successful.  I don’t think I’d think or feel the same a couple of months ago.  The Lord is good.

One last thought from last week.  There was an insurance agent who came by and explained all these insurance policies for things like cancer care, accident indemnity, and short-term disability.  I was particularly interested in the short-term disability one since the plan pays you cash up to a certain amount during an event such as maternity leave.  After discussing it with Bob, we decided against it.  One reason is that we’re still out of one job so money is tight.  Another reason is we don’t know when we’ll get pregnant.  So paying into a plan not knowing if we’ll benefit from it is a bit much.  If I were fertile and could plan like those people who get pregnant the second they lay eyes on their husband, this would be a great plan.  Oh well….  We just have to save up money again for when I get pregnant and give birth.

Okay I’ll write an update when I have a moment in India.  See you all soon!

 

13 thoughts on “Leaving

  1. Have such a good trip–enjoy the time with your dad, enjoy your delicious hotel breakfasts, and I hope that you and your in-laws get along. I’m so glad that Bob is getting some interviews–he’s bound to get an offer soon! Safe travels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

