Rekka’s death sentence and a friend’s surprise BFP

Today is 8 days past ovulation.  Will head over to Dr. E on this fine Saturday morning to check on my ovaries to see if the cyst is still there or there are any new cysts popping up.  Hopefully naming the cyst Rekka (derived from Hebrew “raik” which means “empty”, named by my brilliant secret Facebook friend M) will give it a death sentence so we could move on with our cycle in a week!  We’ll find out the fate of Rekka in about an hour.  I’m feeling a little more ready right now than when we were supposed to start the cycle last month.

An online friend of mine just got her surprise BFP a week ago!  She’s a couple of years younger than I am but has my kind of FSH, AMH, and AFC.  She has been told by all the doctors that she consulted with, that it’s nearly impossible for her to get pregnant naturally.  All of her IUIs were BFNs.  She even had one cycle the previous month banking one embryo for future transfer.  She had never gotten a BFP in her life.  She went out of the country on vacation, came back, and got the biggest surprise of her life!  I would be lying to you if I told you that I didn’t feel a little sorry for myself for two seconds when I found out about her pregnancy.  You know, the same ol’ why not me, why her kind of thing.  But after those two seconds, I began to feel a lot of joy for her and plenty of hope for myself!  This is someone very similar to me.  If it could happen to her, it could happen to me!  I just have to put my trust in the Lord that it could be accomplished, if I let Him do his work and follow His plans.  Hey JA, if you’re reading this, just know that I am VERY happy for you and I’m praying for a strong heartbeat in a few weeks and super sticky baby dust for this super sticky bean! 

For those who are stopping by for ICLW, thanks for visiting!  I look forward to hearing from you!

13 thoughts on “Rekka’s death sentence and a friend’s surprise BFP

  1. Hi from ICLW!

    I hope sucky Rekka is gone. A new cycle is always exciting and I can’t want to follow your journey.

    I am happy for your friend, but sadly those stories do nothing for me. I’ve been in this infertility battle too long. Those “miracle” stories will never be mine. I swear I’m not a Debby Downer. It’s just my truth. I need a lot of science to get a baby:-) SEX is not enough. Every time one of my fertile friends hears a story like your friend’s and calls me, I want to slit my wrist.

    Like

    • Hey thanks for stopping by! Yeah… it could get very old very fast when people tell you that so and so I know got pregnant when doctors told her that it’s not possible. I guess b/c I’m still early in my assisted reproductive technology journey that I still feel okay hearing stories like that happening to people I know.

      Like

  2. I both love surprise DOR BFP stories (because they give me hope) and hate them (because I’m so sure that will never be me). It sucks having such mixed feelings for a friend.

    Like

  3. Oh I see Rekka is gone! Good for you. All the best for the next cycle.

    Good Luck to your online friend – always gives you hope, doesn’t it.

    #17

    Like

  4. Hi from ICLW! I like your little blog image.. cute! I remember being this positive while TTC. I hope you get pregnant before you enter ultimate infertility bitch mode.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Trip to RE and answers | In Quest of a Binky Moongee

  6. Pingback: A Season of Waiting, Again | In Quest of a Binky Moongee

Leave a Reply

